Movie Night

Over the weekend we celebrated my sister Gabby’s 29th birthday. Our amazing and fabulous friend Candice was so kind letting us have the party at her and her fiancé Max’s home. We absolutely LOVE a themed party and have been waiting to use this particular theme for quiet some time. Gabby adores everything ABBA and is obsessed with the Mamma Mia movies. Rather than have a Mamma Mia/ABBA themed birthday, we went with a theme that would allow people to dress up based on their own comfort level….any movie they want!

First, we requested that everyone choose a specific movie that they enjoy for their personal theme. They were then asked to dress as a character from their film and bring either an appetizer, drink or dessert fitting the aesthetic of their film. This is a perfect way to let people be creative! By opening up the theme to any movie, the guests are able to dress as a character that they might already have a costume for and it allows them to get into character more by dressing from a movie that they are extremely familiar with.

BIRTHDAY GIRL GABBY: MAMMA MIA

Gabby went with her favorite movie, Mamma Mia. For her addition to the party she made a Rum Mojito. The drinks were poured into glittery blue cups, each with a different Mamma Mia song title on them. She also brought Bluetooth bejeweled microphones for some karaoke fun!!

ME: MARIE ANTOINETTE

I am obsessed with history and all things royal so I went with one of my favorite films, Sophia Coppola’s Marie Antoinette. The costumes and set design in this film are incredible and I wanted to go all out with my costume and props.

My dress is from Amazon, but I spent a lot of time sewing jewels on the trim for some sparkle. I also created my own pin that I sewed onto the bodice of the dress. The pin included a small photograph of King Louis XVI. I ordered a hoop cage for under my dress from Amazon and a corset from SXF. To complete the look, my mother spent an hour and a half perfecting my hair. I ordered a wig, but it just didn’t look right for me so I used my natural hair for Marie. I also used the Pat McGrath Labs Bridgerton collection for my makeup look. I was obsessed with the final look and wish I could dress this elaborately more often.

For my specialty drink, I brought champagne that I poured into cups that look like slices of cake. Now I am fully aware that Marie Antoinette never said the infamous line, “Let Them Eat Cake,” but I couldn’t help playing into it. When the cups are put together they form a cute birthday cake. I also brought some macaroons for dessert. The items were placed on the table with a mirror that I decorated with Marie’s monogram along with a very special necklace. I was very ambitious with my props and decided to recreate the necklace form the Affair of the Diamond Necklace. I was not successful in creating a perfect replica but I gave it my best shot with the time that I had.

CANDICE: HOW TO LOSE A GUY IN 10 DAYS

Candice decided to really have some fun with her movie and go with a classic rom com, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days. She wore a polka dot dress, butterfly hair clips and carried a very important prop; the dead love fern.

For her drink/dessert Candice made love fern vodka pudding shots! These were so cute and such a fun way to incorporate her movie into her drink.

LIBBY: LA LA LAND

Libby loves all things musical, so she came as Mia from La La Land. She wore an adorable yellow dress paired with black heels and a red lip. She recreated the iconic look from the dance number outside of The Griffith Observatory. Libby is a natural red head so she looked perfect as Mia.

Libby brought a clever and fun appetizer to tie in her movie. She brought chicken on a stick! In the movie Sebastian wants to name his Jazz Club Chicken On A Stick, so Libby brought a platter of chicken strips that she put on skewers. It was such a hit!

CHRISTINA: THE PRINCESS DIARIES

Gabby’s friend Christina did not disappoint with her fun take on The Princess Diaries. She dressed as Princess Mia in her school uniform with a tiara. Her boyfriend also attended and dressed in a school uniform.

They brought a pizza and put M&Ms on top spelling out “Sorry”. This is from an iconic scene in the fil and I loved their take on the movie.

MAX: THE BIG LEBOWSKI

Max loves The Big Lebowski and has the best costume for the Dude. Seeing Max as the dude never gets old, so I love that he picked this for his theme.

His drink was a White Russian.

JACK: WEST SIDE STORY

Our family recently saw the new West Side Story and we are just as obsessed with it as we were with the original. My brother really loves the movie and decided that dressing as a jet would be an easy costume. He wore jeans, a white shirt, a bomber jacket and some black adidas. He was spot on with his costume.

Jack walked around the party with a flask of whiskey and used that as his signature drink. We toasted Gabby with shots of whiskey for Jack’s themed drink.

Gabby’s 29th birthday party was such a success and I am so excited with how the night turned out. I am so bummed that I didn’t get more photos, but we were having so much fun that I forgot.

Leave a comment